Day 6 Widnes to Cleveleys

Today was due to be a blast from the past with a return to a childhood holiday place – Blackpool. It’s not ordinarily on a LEJOG route but a friend from London had moved there and I hadn’t seen her in 10 months so it became the perfect opportunity to visit and break the trip in two with a day off.

The route there was relatively flat (compared to all other days) and I started out quick though trying to follow further cycle path diversions which had scuppered my route the previous day into Runcorn and Widnes.

The entire trip so far has taken advantage of canal paths to varying degrees of success. Sometimes they’re only walkable and sometimes they’ve been fab but I’m so relieved I changed my tyres from Gatorskins to a set of Marathon Plus tyres before I set off. They’re really tough and have held up on practically off-roading paths, including some of the canal paths. If you’re planning on doing this trip I’d recommend changing to these standard of “puncture resistant” tyres- they’ll serve you well.

The first third of the day went very quickly, the middle third a lot slower because of said navigational canal path issues and the last third from Preston onwards was fab.

DSC_0651

Blackpool is a unique place. Some day it’s a dump, some say it’s a perfect young family holiday location. Either way, I think everyone needs to go there at least once in their life. I recorded the entire promenade for those abroad who find it harder to experience a true English seaside resort and that’ll be on my youtube channel once I’m back next week amd organise myself.

DSC_0654

By the time I met my friend I was in a lot of pain from my left knee and once off the bike I was properly limping because my calves were too tight to bend with each step. On my day off I kept stretching and walking to ease the adhesions out and by the end of the day off it wasn’t as bad.

I was rested and ready to tackle the second half of the trip…

Leave a Reply

